This doc refers to managing users on our old user model. For accounts using our new user model, please raise a support request here.
As an owner or an account administrator, you have the ability to efficiently manage the users within your account. This includes assigning them new roles and permissions, as well as removing or suspending them. This article will guide you through the necessary steps to perform these actions effectively.
For instructions on creating a new user, please consult this guide.
For the New Airwallex WebApp Experience (Beta phase):
If you see "Business Accounts" in the left navigation column, you're on the new Airwallex experience. If you don't see this then please refer to steps outlined under "For the existing Airwallex Webapp Experience"
Change a user’s nickname or role
Owners and Admins can change a user’s nickname or role from the Users page.
- Select Users from the left navigation.
- Find the user you want to update, select the horizontal ellipsis (⋯), and select Edit user.
- Update the user’s nickname, if required, then select Next.
- Select the user’s new role.
- Select Save changes.
To add a new Owner or promote an existing user to an Owner, see How to Add a New Owner to Your Organisation. Owner assignments may require approval and identity verification, depending on the organisation and legal entity.
Suspend or unsuspend a user
Owners and Admins can suspend or unsuspend a user’s access to the organisation at any time.
- Select Users from the left navigation.
- Find the user, select the horizontal ellipsis (⋯), and select Suspend user or Unsuspend user.
A user cannot suspend or unsuspend themselves.
Remove a user
Owners and Admins can remove non-owner users from the organisation at any time.
- Select Users from the left navigation.
- Find the user, select the horizontal ellipsis (⋯), and select Remove user.
- Confirm the removal.
A user cannot remove themselves. After removal, the user will no longer be able to access the organisation and will receive an email notification.
Remove an owner
Removing an Owner is not currently available. If you need to change an Owner’s access or role, contact Airwallex Support.
For the existing Airwallex Webapp Experience:
If you don't see "Business Accounts" in the left navigation column, you're on the old Airwallex experience. You will be migrated to the new WebApp experience soon as we gradually roll it out.
Change a user’s nickname or role
An Owner or Admin can change a user's role from the Users page in their account.
To change user’s nickname and user role, follow the steps:
Step 1. Navigate to 'Account' > 'User Management' > 'Users'
Step 2. Find the User > click on the horizontal ellipsis button > 'Edit user'
Step 3. Change the nickname if you wish and click 'Next'
Step 4. On this page, you can change the user's role. Note: only Owners can promote an existing user to become new owner by change their role to Owner role. For the remaining steps, please refer to Step 3 for adding new owner(s) in this guide
Step 5. Click 'Save changes'
Suspend/Unsuspend user
Owners and Admins can suspend or un-suspend account access to users at any time.
To Suspend/Unsuspend user in your account, follow the steps:
Step 1. Navigate to 'Account' > 'User Management' > 'Users'
Step 2. Find the User > click on the horizontal ellipsis button > click 'Suspend user' or 'Unsuspend user'
Note: No user can suspend or un-suspend themselves
Remove user
Owners and Admins can remove account access to users (non-account owners) at any time.
To remove a user from your account, follow the steps:
Step 1. Navigate to 'Account' > 'User Management' > 'Users'
Step 2. Find the User > click on the horizontal ellipsis button > click 'Remove user'
Note: No user can remove themselves
An email notification will notify that the user cannot access the account anymore.
Remove Owner
Only Owners can initiate the removal request of another Owner.
To initiate an Owner removal request from your account, follow the steps:
Step 1. Navigate to 'Account' > 'User Management' > 'Users'
Step 2. Find the User > click on the horizontal ellipsis button > click 'Edit user'
Step 3. Un-select the Owner role > select another role for this user > click 'Save changes'
Step 4. Double confirm the action on the confirmation box > click ‘Remove’.
Step 5. The Owner Removal Request will be sent out. Note: The Owner that is being removed will be asked to approve their owner removal request for their Owner role to be removed. Once the Owner who is being removed has confirmed their removal, an email update will be sent to existing owners that the owner role for that Owner has been removed.